To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In order to understand a culture, one needs know the people and intermingle with them. Unless the person experiences the culture, he or she cannot fully learn it. As a Korean-American, I moved to the States when I was in fifth grade. Before I entered an elementary school in the States, I did not know anything about the society in the States, but as I grew up here, I understood more. In order to understand something, one must study its elements. Likewise, to understand the most important characteristics of society, one must study its major cities.

One of the major cities in a country is the capital where the federal government exists. For example, in South Korea, the Blue House is in Seoul, and that is where the country's decisions are made. President Moon invites foreign politicians to the place, and we often see the event through the News. We can learn that when President Trump visits the Blue House, Korean society is facing a political dilemma between North Korea and the States.

Also, from major cities, we can learn the trend of its society. New York City, for instance, is one of the major cities in the States. NYC is known for world-leading fashion. Zara has branches spread out the world and people outside of the States wants to learn what clothes are popular and follow its trends. I often see Zara in Korea and study what fashion is in trend today.

In order to know a certain aspect of something, one must study it. One can learn about the government and the trend of a country by observing its major cities.