To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this era of internet, almost all the trendy stuffs are first generated in the urban atmosphere. This cities are embellished by bounty of resources and funding from the goverment and are a matter of pride to the nations. Most of the culture have their iconic cities, which were the center of the evolution of their society. Thus by studying the characteristics of the major cities one can get a comprehensive idea about the characteristics of the society.

If we focus on the modern society then we can Identify every nation has their own symbolic city like, Dhaka for Bangladesh, Tokyo for Japan, New Delhi for India etc. All of these major cities has a great influnce over the culture developed and propagated in the country. One of the main reason behind this is the new age of connectivity. Most facilities are available in the major cities, so people gather in the cities more than ususal. If we look at the major protests that was formed in Bangladesh, almost all of them were started from its iconic city Dhaka. For example, the recent protest for the execution of war criminals in Shahabag, Dhaka. Most of the major bodies of the goverment along with major infrestuctures are also situated in the Dhaka city. Thus many important issues like passing a law to enforcing it, all had the first impact here. And how the people react actually shapes the response from the government. Many other customs of the society like observing different festivals are also done with grandiose in those major cities. Thus they gave a pretty good representation of the society.

Not only that, If we look in the past and focus on the major civilizations like the Greeks and Romans, all their cultures were city centric. For the Romans, rome was the center of everything. From the developement of the democracy by forming senate to the educational prowess, all was centered in rome. Thus to study the roman civilization, the city of rome is of great importance. Similarly, by studing the city of Mekkah and their traditions one can get a good idea about the birth of Islam and the muslim culture. Thus these major cities are a imprint of their culture and styding them results in go idea about the society.

Although it is true that the major cities grab the main focus most of the time, there many folk culture that has helped to shape a society. For example. in bangladesh, many famous poems, folk singers had came up from the the rural area and captured the soul of the rural people. By doing this they have enriched the culture of Bangladesh which one cannot just ignore. They helped to shape way of thinking and in cases helped to form a better society. If one only focuses on the urban counterpart to study a society , it is possible that some of these major contributions get ignored.

So, by studying the major cities of, one can get a very good idea abouth the charateristics of the society. Nevertheless to get a more complete idea, one should not completely ignore the rural and folk side of that culture and society.