To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

To study the characteristics of society will help one to develop an opinion about society and will further help in understanding its contributions and role in whatever perspective necessary. The prompt recommends that one must study the cities in order to understand society. In my opinion, I do not completely agree with this suggestion and bolster my opinion basing on the following two reasons

Firstly, to understand the important characteristics of a society, one needs to know the most basic version of them. The

characteristics like cultures, traditions, behavioral aspects can be studied coherently of the people who are away from the cover of artificial sophistication cities demand. For instance, many developing countries will have two aspects of a society, One which is in aligned with the world of development, cities being the representatives of economic development fall in this criteria, whereas the other aspect is people from small town and villages, who embrace development at a slower speed and still tenaciously hold to their values and traditions which distinguish them as a particular society. So when we try to study the second aspect, it will give us a greater sense of characteristics of a society.

Furthermore, the cities all around the world are generic in nature. One can compare and contrast between cities but cannot understand the important characteristics of a society in the process. For example, an observer of a society can interpret what languages are spoken, what food is famous, how the development is progressing, what are the shortcomings from cities. But to understand the key characteristics of a society, like the way people conduct each other, the cultures and traditions they follow, the festivals which they celebrate can be discerned just by looking deep beyond cities.

But the developments in any fields in society are directly reflected in the cities. The cities are like the monitor to the CPU. Here CPU is represented by the entire society. The economic and social conditions of a society can be easily judged by its cities. So, cities also contribute to the understanding of the characteristics of the society.