To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In today's modern world of rapid development, the cities are the integral entity that determines the country's overall status - which includes culture, socio-economic, technology, development as well as political status - well that is at least how most of us sees it. But, i think just by studying major cities is not a genuine way of generalizing the characteristics of nation or society.

It is a fact that major cities are the most populated ones and people all around the country reside there.So, it is important to take the big cities into account if one were to know about its characteristics. A society is group of people and its characteristics is defined people behaviors, cultures, traditions and its history.However, major cities are not enough to justify the characteristic features of society as a whole. For an instance, Delhi is a capital city of India, has lots of tourist places and contributes a fair amount of cultural heritages but, extrapolating characteristics just on the basis of major cities for such a culturally and socially rich country ,would be undermining the whole notion of society. Like Kathmandu,a capital of Nepal is also a major city - also has a number of tourists places for attraction. Apart from that, Nepal also has multi-linguistic and multi-cultural people with their own history and traditions-most of them are living in countryside. So it is necessary to study other rural parts of the cities as well.

In the present world, western culture are most followed by much of the countries and urban cities are the most influenced by this. People are adopting to this change and one studying the major cities is likely to miss the social customs and tradition if he were to follow the big cities only. The true essence of the society are somewhat obscured by the current modernization and to generalize on the basis of this will botch the result. People living in the countryside are different from those living in urban areas. They have different lifestyles, customs and follow different etiquettes.

However, big question is --Can we really define a society or a country as a whole with its characteristics. We can find different cultures and traditions in different society. Like a dice, it has multifarious variations-some might be modern, some undeveloped ,some good and some bad. But , how are we really going to define a society? Are major cities enough? I think it is just like judging a book by its cover. The nuanced subtleties also make a big differences in defining a characteristics of a society. . Like a little village in Nepal called Illam is famous for its tea production and Pokhara ,one of a big cities, famous for its natural resources, which ones should we take into account?. If we follow author then, we will miss the peculiar picture of tea production altogether. Does author means that bucolic and pastoral areas are not significant for study? If we miss that then, it will be like missing important ingredient of a recipe.

In conclusion, it might be important to study major cities for understanding of superficial characteristics of a society but, altogether it is not sufficient to leave it at that. A deeper understanding of its villages and areas other than the big cities are also equally important.