To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

This claim to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities is wrong in my opinion.Firstly if one wants to know about the society they have to look into the whole society which includes both the villages and cities in the society.

In olden days there was no difference between a city and a village and that's the reason why it was easy to understand the characteristics of the society in those days.There on people started and evolving,thereafter the difference between cities and villages arose and then it was a difficulty to understand the characteristics of the society.

Basically according to me the first step to understand the characteristics of the society is knowing the development in the villages rather than cities because villages play a vital role in society.Many people travel from villages to cities for their survival,this clearly shows that the villages are still not been considered as a part of the society.

developing the villages means developing the society in deed.The first and foremost step is to know the villages present in the society to understand the society.