Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All great leaders have gone down in history because of their ability to persuade people and provide them with a purpose. While such persuasion , may at times be innate , it may also be due to a careful understanding of one's past . Analysing the past ensures that one will have an advantage over ceratin issues due to his vast knowledge on the subject in hand . Experience is considered an important trait for any human being , even more vital for a leader . But due to the ephemeral lifespan of a human being it is bogus to expect a leader to always rely on his instinct . This is where studying and understanding the past can prove to be an effective tool for a leader .

Analysing the past could prove to be vital for leaders. By doing so one is bound to experience growth at all turns because he/she is focused on learning new approaches to leadership and also precluding the mistakes commited by the leaders in the past . Developing an interest for the past could turn out to be an effective weapon for leaders. Consider Abraham Lincoln , the president who wrote the declaration of independence and united an entire nation divided by caste, race and colour of skin . Because of his sheer will and search for peace, an entire nation attained peace for decades to come . Current leaders can look to this example as inspiration and try to emulate the same in current day global problems of discrimination and racism .

While it may seem like an effective tool that all leaders need to possess , understanding and analysing the past can lead to many problems . Leaders may tend not to trust their own instincts .They may end up being shortsighted or narrow-minded , not open to any changes and so on . Consider the Hiroshima - Nagasaki bombing incident that took place decades ago . If the leaders of the current generation were to live to it , USA and Japan could never be allies and could never look to help each other out . If the leaders of this generation withheld their grudge for each other , there would be no peace and no harmony in the world , leading to another World War. This is why sometimes it can prove to be a blessing when leaders do not over analyse the past .

All great leaders must have a purpose , and a vision for themselves and for their people. He/she must always look out for their people's best interest and look to protect them at all costs . They must be well equipped with understanding the past to pave the path for a better future . Having a short-sighted mindset would lead to an inexorable downfall . Hence it is important for a leader to always be willing to learn from the past in order to lead his/her people to a better future .