Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Although I believe that students benefit from taking courses outside their field study, I consider that universities should “encourage” students to do so, instead of requiring ALL students to do so, for the following reasons.

Most students want to get high pay in big companies after graduation. Companies need employees having knowledge about many other relative fields, so taking courses outside their major can help students find better jobs. For example, because of the era of knowledge economic, lots of companies have started to emphasize the importance of “noncognitive skill,” such as the ability of negotiation, communication, and innovation, so as to not only help employees reduce the obstacle during selling the products to the customer, but also increase the efficiency of the team works. Without sociological knowledge, people could not realize what customers think during the conversation, which may increase the risk of making them unhappy so as to decrease the companies’ reputation.

In addition, students should meet new friends outside their field of study, which may provide assistance in the future when they need, and one of the fast ways is taking the class outside the major. For instance, when students face the lawsuit problem in the future, such as sexual harassment, a lawyer friend can provide legal knowledge about this case and give some discount on the lawyer fee. Or when they want to invest the stock market in the future, a friend of economy professor can provide some information about future economic trend without paying money to him. Therefore, building many ties to the friends outside the major field will help students deal with the accidental problem more efficiency.

Some may contend that some students only have interests in their own field of study, and the only reason for taking courses outside their field is the requirement of graduation credits. Indeed, not every student has divergent interests and likes to meet new friends. Therefore, I believe that “encourage” instead of requiring to take courses outside their field of study is the optimal approach. Students only wanting to study their major do not need to take the courses outside their field. On the other hand, by encouraging students having interests on other fields to study additional courses, they will learn knowledge about other disciplines, and meet friends outside their own field of study at the same time.

Therefore, universities should “encourage” instead of requiring students to take courses outside their field of study.