Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Since universities make decisions on curriculums and student policies, whether or not they allow their students to take various courses outside their fields of study has huge impact on the students learning experiences. Considering the fact that young students are still in a process of expanding their worldviews and that our society has propensity for heterogeneity, I generally agree with the statement above.

To begin with, requiring all university students to study courses outside their majors seems quite extreme. When a student has a specific interest, putting time and energy aside to study about other fields may have a detrimental influence on his own study. Consider a law major student, if he has to study physics or art history, which have very little relation to his own law study, it would be only distracting and wasting his time. For such students, studying a variety of fields does not seem necessarily beneficial.

However, young students are often not sure about what their life would be and what they really want to do. It is not difficult to find young students who change their majors, even more than a couple times, or never are sure about their majors and continue to study just general courses. Thus, it is required that universities encourage their students to be open-minded and study other subjects, which they have not chosen as their major, but still may be interest them. By doing so, students can have another chance to carefully contemplate on what they want to study and spend their precious time in an university.

Even if taking a range of diverse course may not have helped them to find a life-long interest, the learning would benefit them regardless of the field they continue to study or work. In our age, the world has a strong propensity for heterogeneity. This does not only mean people from various cultural backgrounds working together, but also mean a convergence of different fields. For example, to manage and analyze Big Data, one should have a substantial understanding of only Statistics, but also Computer Engineering as well as Social Science. If a Computer Science major student would like to start his career in Big Data, whether or not he has taken courses in Social Science or Statistics would be a huge advantage. This shows how encouraging all university students to take courses outside of their major can benefit them.

In conclusion, while enforcing all university students to study a variety courses may distract them from their main major, upon which they need to focus, it actually has more beneficial than disadvantages. It would help students to reconsider their real interests and also prepare them to be a desirable workforce given such fast changing world.