Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

With the advent of the Liberal Arts education model, there has been much discourse of the advantages of an education in diverse subjects. The statement asserts that this is a necessary and good part of a new age of further education. We live in a world that is constantly changing, and with this exponential progress, comes exponential decay. There are certain areas and industries that are becoming obsolete. There are many reasons for this: technological progress, change in processes, diminishing natural resources. In general, it is becoming vital to be able to adapt and think critically to survive.

Today's fields of study need to be interdisciplinary in order to fill the needs of the constantly changing industries, as mentioned in the prior paragraph. Taking classes outside of one's comfort zone will force one into a situation in which you have no experience, which, in turn, gives a student the impetus to think, not just rely on their latent knowledge. A web design student is suddenly thrown into a music business class. She is not used to the subject, but then down the line, she gets a job designing a website for a recording studio, and understands the intricacies of the business enough to make an apt and successful website that exceeds their demands.

As considered in the first paragraph, there are many fields of industry that are becoming obsolete. There is a crisis in today's farm industries the world over. In the past, farming was a lucrative and necessary business. Today, we see countless farmer suicides. Why is this? Farmers, as a cause of geographical location, and convenience in regards to time, maybe never got the opportunity or felt the need to study further. In an analog world, this was not a huge problem. But today, without the tools that exist in a world of mechanical farming, GMOs and other farming technologial advances, there are lesser and lesser opportunities for farmers with analog knowledge of agriculture to stay employed.

In an academic department, is easy to be caught in an echo chamber of opinions if one does not seek outside influence. In light of recent events in technology, like the emergence of filter bubbles, and unreliable media, students have to learn to seek out the truth, and question the information they are given. For example, in the most recent election, there was a great deal of misinformation caused by the medium in which people received news. People were only receiving news that was relevant to their previous web searches and “liked” pages on social media. People were not questioning or verifying their sources as they were used to being fed information. Students that are encouraged to take courses outside of their field have a broader world view that organically leads to them processing information.

Today, formal education is not only encouraged, but almost indispensible to anyone who wants to secure a successful job and career. The debate of how this education is delivered is an important one. How can we best prepare the next generation for a future that holds at once unending progress, and the possibility of great destruction of opportunities? The practice of having students explore courses outside of their field of study encourages the critical thinking, open-mindedness, and creativity that is necessary to cultivate the next generation of working professionals.