"We learn through direct experience; to accept a theory without experiencing it is to learn nothing at all."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As human beings, all of us have a penchant towards believing everything catchy without proper judgement and understanding. Accepting any theory without proper experience and understanding seems vague. With a sensible aptitude and deep thinking, I personally believe that it is never possible to accept and validate a premise without experiencing its core domain. Be it Science or culinary skills it is of utter importance to encounter the respective situations before starting get fallacious.

Starting with an example in the ground of the devastating pandemic of Sars-CoV-2, I have personally heard people believe random theories and explanations regarding COVID-19 that have apparently been shared on social media with no cogent meaning. Some people happen to say that smoking can plummet the chances of a person getting susceptible to the fatal disease. Whereas, researchers spending hours, days and months in the laboratories, after tiresome and laborious experiments discovered that smoking, very contrary to the belief of some people, escalates the chance of people getting prone to be a victim of the deadly virus. This conclusion was based on their experience while working with humanized mouse when they noticed that the tar present in smoke is leading to an increase in number of ACE-2 receptors in the lungs which is making it easier for the spikes of the virus to get attached to these receptors, henceforth leading to detrimental situations.

Moving on to the example of culinary science, there are a lot of novice people who feel that cooking is nothing but a piece of cake. Specially, the patriarchial society that we live in never misses a chance to humiliate women who cook as they believe it does not take any labour or skill to carry out the task. One who hasn’t prepared a cake would never know the exact ratio of flour to sugar or the whisking tricks that are required to make a fluffy scrumptious cake. Often, at restaurants, we lose our cool at times when we find that our ordered food is not top-notch. We believe that it is not at all hard for the chef to cook for so many people at the same time. Since I have developed a passion for cooking lately and have cooked for about ten people in a birthday party, I know how hard it is to prepare different demands of people within time, maintaining the hygiene and quality of food.

In a nutshell, it is really convenient for people to believe in certain notions and theories without being a part of it. In a world where starting from the theoretical view of the particulate nature of light to creating a dessert using millets, oats and dry fruits requires hands-on experience and failures before arriving to a successful inference, it is never plausible to learn properly if only the theory is taken into consideration without the experiments preceding it.