We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

According to the author from last 20 years Monarch book is a pioneer in retailing book in that area and now it has plan to expand it even more and attach more customers. It plans to open a cafe by removing the kids section, but altering this change may not bring significant customer increase. Rather it may dampen the current customer sales as well. The author has planned to do this change after hearing the National Census reports which states that there has been significant decline in the percentage of the population under the age 10. Based on this report it may not be wise decision to start a cafe by discontinue the kids section.

The report says there has been decline in the population of children below the age 10 but it does not indicate the actual figures, it can also be a very small decline instead of a major one. So without counting the actual figure we cannot predict the kids section would not generate enough revenue. Moreover, many times parents come with their child to buy books for them but ultimately many times they end up buying books for them as well which otherwise they would have skipped.

Today is modern era and everything is available online and with the increase of tablets like kindle reader many people prefer reading book on them or online as it is not only cheap but quite handy, this cuts the major part of the books sale. But their kids, below the age 10 are not comfortable with online reading or soft copies they have to come to books store and this keeps our customer count up and eventually many parent get attracted to some book and buy them along with their kids or many times just to teach their there that reading is a good habit they buy book and so they children can also follow them and do the same. As many children try copying what their parents keep on doing and so they also tend to become a long time customer.

Now even if we ignore the above two points and consider the hypothesis situation that we have opened a cafe but now they itself can serve a major a problem for store and customers. A cafe generally have a relaxing ambiance where most people come to talk, spend time or discuss their personally or any other issues. This will generate a lot of noise and it will cause an disturbance to our customer who are reading or focusing on which book to buy. They will be constantly hindered with the cafe’s disturbance and moreover book store are quite like library where most people come and read books for some time before buying them. This will be a potential threat to such customer as they will not be able to concentrate on book and we’ll eventually lose our sale. Not only this many people will come of buying an instead end up having a nice time in cafe and spending their money in cafe instead of buying books which could have bring more profit to us.

In the end I will like to finish off by summing up that opening a cafe is not a solution through which we can increase our sales and nor by discontinuing kids section will bring any improvement. Instead of doing any such action which can decrease our any age group customer we can try to give some weekly sale in which they can be some discount on particular section where we feel that sale is not good. This will not only attract more customers but will also boost our market value.