Young people should be encouraged to pursue long term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.
I concur with the statement that young people should be encouraged to pursue long term,
realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition. This is because even though
the thought of becoming an overnight success is extremely luring, but it is not the case with
majority of the population. On the other hand, working persistently for years at first will seem to
be tedious and not as exciting as the counterpart, but it will definitely lead to a better living
circumstances.
Some parents exhort their children to look for a shortcut which will lead them to ephemeral
success, which will precipitate to instant fame and recognition . Firstly, even if we somehow
manage to become successful in a short period of time, the fame and recognition that comes
with it may not be there for a long period of time. There are hundreds of artists who are a typical
paradigm of “Successful Today, Forgotten Tomorrow”. For example, a movie actor gave an
outstanding performance in his debut film and got instantly famous. However, his fame
diminished as quickly as he got it. Currently, no producer in the industry even considers him for
a role in their movie.
On the contrary, a latent footballer worked diligently, perfected his skills, mastered his shooting
aim, and maintained discipline for years after which he got the chance to play for his national
team. He got appraisal from the best players in the world, and the best clubs wanted to sign
him. This was not an instant success, but an outcome of the hard work he had put for years
which led him to become one of the most talented footballers in the world. In one of his press
conferences, he mentioned that “It took me 19 years, 225 days and 7 hours to become an
overnight success”. This shows how he must have been encouraged by his family and coaches
for so many years, which helped him to pursue his goals.
However, becoming famous in a short period of time has its perks too. It might be that the family
of a person is not stable financially. The fame and recognition for his work might help them
improve their quality of living. Also, if the person has become famous at this moment, even if his
fame vanishes after a short period of time, there is a chance that he will still be remembered for
his work which gave him recognition, and he might also be substantial for future prospects.
Nevertheless, there is no guarantee of this to happen.
In conclusion, I agree with the statement that encouraging young minds to work hard for years
to pursue realistic goals rather than utopian dreams is always going to be beneficial, whereas
short term fame and recognition may or may not be as much benevolent.