Biotechnology companies all over the world are developing different types of genetically modified ( GM ) crops . However ,not enough is known about these crops on our health and the environment . Interfering with nature in this way should be prohibited . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Genetically Modified ( GM ) crops can be produced in greater quantity , have more nutritional value and also do not need insecticides and pesticides . Despite these benefits , some people are against GM foods . However , I disagree with them .

Firstly , opponents of GM foods argue that GM crops are unnatural and that by creating them we are altering the natural world . This argument is not convincing at all . It is well known that all modern crops are the result of selective breeding done by agriculturists since age old times . Genetic modifications simply modifies crops in a more planned way and there is nothing unnatural is that .

Another argument raised by objectors to GM foods is that they could constitute a health risk ,for example by causing allergies or even by being toxic However , there is no evidence to support this idea . In fact , because GM foods can have improved nutritional value , they are more likely to be of benefit to the health of the population than a risk . The final objection raised by those who want GM foods banned is that GM crops which kill the pests which attack them may also kill harmless insects . They claim that this would be detrimental for the environment . On the contrary , since GM crops do not require spraying with toxic insecticides , environmental damage such as the contamination of soils and river s is avoided . In conclusion ,GM crops offer increased agricultural productivity and foods of higher nutritional value , both of which are essential if the growing world population of the twenty-first century is to be fed . I am unconvinced that GM crops pose a risk to our environment and health . Indeed , these crops have the potential to improve the health of millions throughout the world while causing less environmental damage than standard farming methods used today . I think it essential that , far from being prohibited , GM foods should be encouraged .