Some people think young people are suitable for learning foreign languages . Some people think adults are more suitable . Discuss both and give your opinion .

Learning a new language is an activity which is very useful and takes a considerable amount of time . Some people opine that children learn a foreign language quicker than adults . Others believe that adults are better equipped to learn a new language . This essay shall look into both sides of the argument before forming an opinion .

There is no doubt that a young mind readily absorbs new information . Child psychologists often mention that the most formative years of learning happen in the first few years of life . Therefore , what children are exposed to is very often retained and remembered . In this way , a child is in a good position to learn the new information associated with a new language . What is more , children also don't have any hesitations while learning , they are not afraid that others will laugh at them if they speak wrongly .

However , there are a number of significant advantages for the adult language learner .Firstly , the adult learner has his or her language to compare with the new language . In this way , new terms or concepts are very quickly understood by comparing them with concepts or ideas that are already known .

In addition , adults often have a strong motivation to learn a new language . When learning a language is connected to an employment opportunity , the learner is typically very focused and motivated . Also , because most adults learners have participated in study earlier in their lives , they are usually aware of what has worked best in their learning experience and therefore approach the new language with more mature and realistic expectations .

To put it in a nutshell , I pen down saying that , in learning a new language , adults and children , both are good , but adults definitely have an edge .