In some countries students are required to learn a foreign language , but in other countries it is not necessary to do so . Discuss the benefits of each case and give your own opinion .

In some countries , more than one language is compulsory . Sometimes pupils have to start learning a language at primary school . Foreign languages are less often compulsory in English-speaking countries . This is probably because English is widely understood worldwide . This essay shall delve into the advantages of having to study a foreign language as well s the advantages of no such compulsion .

Foreign languages are important for the economy . The more languages someone can speak the more places they can work . Employers value people who are able to speak more than one language . Learning a language will therefore help students to get good jobs when they are older . It will also increase their understanding of other cultures . Moreover , foreign languages skills help companies do business with other countries . It is especially important that children whose native language is not widely spoken ( e.g Hindi, Danish ) learn other languages . It is also important for English-speakers to learn foreign languages , since not everyone speaks English . What is more , it is polite to be able to speak some of another person's language . Governments should try to promote economic growth . Since languages are important for the economy , governments should make all young people learn them .

On the other hand , there are obvious advantages of not forcing a foreign language on students . To begin with , many young people are hardly able to do simple sums or read and write in their own language . Therefore , more time can be spent on these basic skills , not foreign languages . Cultural understanding can be gained in other subjects such as history and geography . Foreign language should be an optional subject and not obligatory . Young people have to learn to make choices . If they do not realise the benefits of learning languages , these benefits should be explained to them . If pupils choose to study a language , they are more likely to be keen and interested that if it is something they are forced to do . In any case , many adults do successfully learn new languages through evening classes or distance-learning courses if they feel the need to learn one later on in life .

On balance , there are more advantages of being biligual or multilingual than being monolingual . In India English is taught as a second languages right from primary school . That is why Indian economy has picked up very fast as many MNCs have opened here . Even countries like Canada have begun to realise the importance of a second language and French or Punjabi is taught in many areas as a second language . It is also been proved by researches that biligual students do better in other subjects too .

To put it in a nutshell , I pen down saying that although there are advantages of having a mandatory foreign language and not having any such obligation , it is better to study a foreign language than not study one .