Some people think that radio has become out-of-date , and there is no need to listen to the radio for entertainment and news . Do you agree or disagree ?

In the past , radio was considered the most convenient and important source of information . However , with the emergence of other media such as the TV and the internet , some individuals opine that radio as a medium will lose its value in the future . In my opinion , such pessimism does not hold any water .

One of the main reasons why radio would not become obsolete in the near future is that driving is very popular across the world as a way of life . Radio is a regular piece of equipment installed in a car , and to car users , listening to the radio while driving is an effective means of taking full advantage of their time and gaining the latest information , such as news , weather forecast , share markets , and so forth. Increased car use gives radio high mobility and its exposure continues to lead other media .

Secondly , for those people who have no time to watch TV , radio provides immediate and easy access to information .Another advantage of its continued popularity is that it is highly affordable . Radio broadcasting is free to the public , unlike the TV on which one has to pay for the channels of choice . Furthermore , the radio is portable . On the occasions where people cannot watch TV , read newspaper or surf the net , they can listen to the radio .

The newer technologies are also responsible for the popularity for radio . For example , people can get radio via satellite , the internet and cable nowadays . There are many other electronic devices , such as MP3 and MP4 players , which allow people to listen to the radio more easily and to use it for various entertainments , such as sharing their music collections . The only disadvantage of the radio is that it is unable to convey messages with sight and motion , as television or internet do . However , the radio is still able to serve the needs of audiences as it always did .

To put it in a nutshell , I pen down saying that the radio has many advantages that give it an edge over other media , either electronic or print . Therefore , radio broadcasting will continue to hold its important place as one of the mass media .