Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed ( damaged ) by human activity . Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live . What is your opinion ? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer .

The quality of human life has improved greatly over the past few centuries , but Earth is being harmed more and more by human activities . As we develop our technology , we demand more from our planet . Eventually, this will harm people as well . But as far as I am concerned that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live and also makes some negative effects in this process . My arguments for this point are listed as follows .

Our planet gives us everything we need , but natural resources are not endless . Strip mining devastated whole regions , leaving bare and useless ground . Deforestation removes old growth trees that can't be replaced .Too much fishing may harm fish populations to the point where they ? There are more people than ever , living longer than ever . So is it any surprise that many areas suffer from too much development ? Anyone living in or near a city has experienced " urban sprawl ". There is a new shopping area on every corner and new houses , townhouses and apartments everywhere . Traffic gets worse and worse because planners can't keep up with growth . Keeping up with human demand is hard enough . Environmental concerns come in last .

With growth comes pollutions . Companies and communities dump waste into water . Landfills are full of trash . Emissions from factories pollute the air . Barrels of industrial waste and worse , radioactive waste , have no safe place to go . If we're not careful, we can harm our planet beyond repair .

People need to respect the Earth and try to preserve it . If we don't , what kind of future will we have ? Think twice before polluting the Earth .