The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

With the advancement of medical science, the world have been witnessing a new trend. Among this, the average life span has increased and as a consequence of this the ratio of elderly individuals have significantly increased. From one perspective, there are many advantages and from another perspective, there are disadvantages. Quite notably, a senior citizen's wisdom and professional experience is an asset and can be leveraged for positive outcome, while there can be some challenges in providing health and palliative care. A diligent approach is needed to balance the two factors.

On one hand, it is quite evident that the diligence and wisdom of elderly people can certainly enlighten and enrich the new generation. The knowledge which had been accumulated for a life time can be transferred to the young people. For instance, educational institutions and academic sector will greatly benefit; elderly people would be able to perform as change agents. Furthermore, as senior citizens are more cognizant about the history and cultural evolution, they can teach the children about the significance of these aspects. Apparently some of the senior citizens are associated with non profitable organizations and upholds the value of philanthropy.These are the values which makes us more humane.

On the other hand, elderly people may have to confront some concerns in health front. With the increasing age, the human body is vulnerable to many diseases and sickness. Apparently, to survive this condition, requires a lot of financial assistance. As elderly people will be more prone to these conditions, they might also require assistance and support from medical staff and their near and dear ones. Government and medical staff need to adequate themselves to provide this support.

In conclusion, a holistic approach for graceful aging needs to be adopted. This indeed will nullify the above negative factors and will allow the elderly people to positively contribute to society.