A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The person’s worth are being changed nowadays. In the past, people used to consider values related to a good personal character. More recently, however, there is an increase in value of the social and economical status of the persons.

The older people demonstrate to have different values when compared to the youngers. In the past, the old-fashion values, such as honour, kindness and trust, were more important than any other social or economical position. People could believe in each other and there were not too many offers and possibilities to buy an expensive product, for example.

However, in recent years, we can observe that people are being judged according to their social status or a material possession. Cars, cell phones and watches, for example, are considered a representation of the person’s status. Currently, even in the schools, the kids who have a specific model of cell phone or backpack are more accepted by some groups.

In conclusion, I agree that the person’s worth are suffering great modifications and people are being judged by what they have and not what they are. The values taught to the kids need to be reviewed. Otherwise, people in the future will not care about each other and generosity and compassion will no longer exist.