Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Having visited Canada, where the household waste recycling is at a high rate, I realised that the level of litter recycling in Kazakhstan, where I am from, is substantially less that of in Canada. This significant difference between the two countries in terms of waste recycling is due to governments' policy: the Canadian government requires its citizens to recycle household wastes, whereas in Kazakhstan, waste recycling is not under the governmental control, it is conducted by private companies. Thus, in my opinion, it is vital that waste recycling is encouraged by laws.

These days, waste recycling should be under the government supervision due to the fact that household litters can be found in far wilderness areas, which threatens both animals and the environment. Wastes, especially in the form of plastic bags, for instance, claim thousands of marine predators' lives annually since plastic bags resemble to jellyfishes, which are one of the main sources of food for the predators. Legally requiring people to recycle their wastes, therefore, can decrease the rate of animal mortality due to wastes and the environmental contamination.

Moreover, if the government enforces individuals to recycle the household wastes, it will save its natural resources, which is becoming more scarce every year. Plastic bags as well as aluminium cans, for example, can be recycled several times, which, in turn, decreases oil drilling and aluminium mining production since those goods will be reproduced from wastes. In addition, this process approach will not deteriorate economy of a country (decreased natural resource extracting) as the number of recycling factories will increase.

In conclusion, a legal enforcement of the government in the household waste recycling is vital since it will increase the rate of recycling, which, in turn, reduces the amount of harm on the environment.