Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Many people think that universities holds a huge responsibility in the life of the human. Nowadays, the percentage of the people who study in the university dramatically increased from the last years,most of them want a better job in the future,so they think that being graduated from an university,their skills and knowledge will provide them a good workplace,at the same time others think that the true function of the university should be give access to knowledge for its own sake.

On the first hand ,the employers are looking to recruit graduated people who fill up their requirements without to train them, because this may save them a lot of money and time and the university already must train the students. A graduated person with excellent skills and knowledge undoubtedly open the door to more employment opportunities and they may adapt easily in their future jobs,as well their work is more efficiently than the other person because they have practiced before.

On the other hand, some opponents argue that the universities must not provide the graduates just with skill and knowledge for a workplace.Apart from knowledge and skills needed in a workplace,other knowledge such as living skills and social interpersonal skills is vital in the life of the human been,it is one of the universities responsibility to mold the graduates with better characteristics

From where I stand, the main function of the universities is the knowledge itself without hesitation.