1. Do you agree that the advantages cars bring outweigh the disadvantages?

Someone has correctly said that “cars have become the important part of life without which we feel incomplete, uncertain and unclad”. The uses of car are increasing significantly. However, car has some harmful consequences but the advantages of cars outstrip its disadvantages.

On the one hand, car has only a few disadvantages. The increase in pollution, traffic jams and accidents occurs due to burgeoning population of cars. Furthermore, overdependence in cars leads to decrease in practices like walking and cycling therefore, increases the chances of health issues like heart attack and obesity.

On the other hand, the advantages of car are increasing sharply. Firstly, using car increases the freedom of movement. The ease of transportation that car provides is far better than any other means of transportation. People can move from destination to destination using cars and time is wasted in waiting bus or train. Therefore, distance and time is not barrier any more. Personal transport is more comfortable compared to public vehicle as it is over-crowding or disgusting. For instance, people can listen to the music, play with the kids, and stay cool, calm and comfortable inside the private vehicle and all these seems to be impossible in public transport. Secondly, families can travel a long distance using cars. Car is found to be more suitable for the family member who are sick, disable or elderly. Moreover, the automobile industries provide employment opportunities to millions of people. Filling stations, businesses and restaurant that serve for automobile traveller boost the economy of country. In the developing country, economy is found blooming through automobile based factories. Hence, Nepal government promotes the automobile manufacturing companies like TATA and Mahendra.

In conclusion, there are obvious few disadvantages of car but it has more advantages as it enhances the country economy and simultaneously improves the individual lifestyle. However, people should be conscious when and how car should be used in order to minimize the demerits to some extent.