Fossil fuels (cool, oil, natural gas) are the main source of energy in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative source of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is irrefutable that fossil fuels have been an major source of energy in many part of the world, but some nation are taking a step forward and using alternative energy like solar, wind and tidal. Definitely, it is a positive development. A number of arguments surround my opinion.

On the one hand, the major advantage of using alternative resources is that conventional sources like oil, natural gas or coal are non-renewable. They take millions of years to make and we are depleting them at an alarming rate. This means that if we finish an existing resource then they all will be gone forever as far as our generation and coming generations are concerned. Energy from the sun, wind and sea is an everlasting source of power that might guarantee the boundless supply of energy for continuously increasing population. In addition, some countries that do not have natural fossil materials can decline the dependences on fuels from others. For instance, large number of homeless residents in European nation died during the winter due to the lack of energy for heating while Russian government imposed the energy sanction to close the oil pipeline from Russia to Europe. On the other hand, another big advantage of using alternative energy is that they do not pollute the environment. We all know that global warming and damage to protective ozone layer all caused due to carbon-dioxide and other by-products of fossil fuels. If urgent action are not taken towards the use of natural sources like sun, wind then time is not so far when the whole earth will be transform into the boiling pot.

Although the use of these alternative sources has some hurdles such as initial cost of setting up solar panels and wind power is also expensive during the initial stage and these also depend on geographical locations. However, once their initial cost is met, their maintenance is practically negligible.

To conclude, the use of non-conventional sources of energy has many positive implications. It should be a global priority to invest in such research and development.