Some people believe that everyone has right to university education. Therefore, government should make university education free for everyone, no matter what their financial background is. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

A group of people think that government should implement free tuition policy to pursue tertiary education, so that whole society would be profited if youth would be provided with the free education. I disagree with the norm. I firmly believe that student himself benefits from the studies. Therefore, the tuition fee should be borne by the student alone.

Proponents of free tertiary education cite a host of benefits. They say that if the education system were totally free, then the whole community would get advantages. This is why in the developing countries has strong effort to raise an educational level of society by putting as much money as possible into providing educational institutions. Developing countries cannot move ahead without enough educated professionals for instances doctors, scientists, accountant etc. Therefore, the government of such countries provide scholarship or free education to as much student as they can fund, because they have realize that whole societal foundation would be benefitted. Despite, in many developed countries also started offering free graduated education as there have been requirements of higher educated population.

On the other hand, there are many credible arguments against free higher education. Firstly, individual themselves gets benefitted from the tertiary education therefore students should themselves pay for it. Doctors, lawyers, scientists get some of the highest earning in most societies. It is justified that the government, therefore tax-payers should not pay for the students who later receives highest amount of money that anyone else. Moreover, most students belong to the middle class families hence; parents could pay for their fees. Secondly, it is well-known fact that if a people get something for free he doesn’t value it too much. Because of free education, the university classes would be full of non-sensible students; as a result they would spoil the decorum of the classes. Many students would not even complete the education and drop out mid-way. In such cases, government money would be wasted. As it is, government has a lot on its shoulders. Therefore, it would be wrong if we would put entire burden of higher education of government shoulders alone.

To conclude, it would not be wise if we put the cost of education on government and so the cost should probably be paid for by student themselves, or take some loans, which must be paid back later.