1. People nowadays are encouraged to buy more and more consumer products. Some people think that it is good for the economy, while others believe that this development will damage the society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A myriad of people are motivated to change money into consumer items and many of them assert that it will facilitate the economy, however, others maintain that this enhancement causes negative impacts to society. This essay will discuss both of these views.

There are two main reasons why consuming consumer goods is positive for the economy. Firstly, should citizens allocate more money for household items, the problem of unemployment will be tackled. When people are liable to purchase consumer products, more enterprises will spend their money on expanding manufacture which will lead to labour shortage. Accordingly, not only companies have to recruit more personnel to operate systems smoothly but this action also decreases the cost burden of unemployed to the economy. Moreover, consuming commodities that belong to domestic will contribute to the consumption of the host country increase and make their country more affluent and beneficial for the economy.

On the other hand, the enhancement of consuming consumer products also brings some detrimental effects. Firstly, purchasing household products leads to the depletion of many natural resources. When people’s demand increases, many materials and ingredients will be overexploited by the business which will demolish the sustainable development of the world. For example, coal is being mined in a significant amount and even on the verge of extinction to make charcoal toothpaste because of residents’ preferences. Furthermore, spending money on household goods will make it easy for people to fall into consumerism. The more they buy the more upgraded and unnecessary items they have which makes people put importance on materialism than others’ values. Consequently, this phenomenon leads to the degradation of social morality.

In conclusion, people should not be incited to shop for more consumer products because of its negative impacts on society.