The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous government expenditures. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Governments allocate lots of money on renovating ancient architectures in many renowned cities all over the world, however, a host of people indicate that this budget should be utilized to facilitate transport systems and other infrastructure projects. From my perspective, I vehemently disagree with this statement.

Firstly, historical buildings always reflect the cultural and historical heritage of the host country. Should these structures are demolished, city dwellers may lose their cultural identity because nothing can remind people about their past. For example, the Vietnamese government has preserved the Complex of Hue Monuments, recognized by UNESCO as a public heritage to recall the citizens of the last ruling dynasty of Nguyen monarch and numerous sacrifices the past generations made to form this great country. For that reason,these constructions needed to be restored for the next generations as a useful method for them to maintain and bring into play the nation’s traditions.

Secondly, only by protecting ancient buildings will people in the present-day world keep intact classical architecture. For example, nowhere can people contemplate standard of French architecture in Vietnam instead of Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica of Saigon. Accordingly, this place became one of the most tourist attractions and bring well- deserved reputation to the local area, therefore, it is devoted to enhancing tourism industry and bring substantial profits for the governments especially solving unemployment problem, and increasing taxes from services for foreigner visitors.

In conclusion, old structures and monuments tell us about the history and time-journey of the city. Their maintenance and preservation of authorities should be further enhanced while living in this rapidly developing society