1. Technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, thanks to the great leap development in terms of the technology, human race can live in a modern civilization. However, opinions differ as to whether it can have more unfavorable influences on society. Although some individuals think that the technology can cause more issues for humans, I would opine that the benefits it can bring outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are a chain of factors which contribute to the belief that the technology can be negative to modern society. The most fundamental one is that the development of technology indirectly contribute to the deterioration of the environment as it motivates the speed of industrialization. For example, a great number of oil-exploitation machines have been used and they dispose a lot of harmful fumes to the environment, which can cause global warming phenomenon. Furthermore, many experts are apprehensive about the rapid progression of robotic technology because they think that robots will gradually substitute for humans in doing a lot of things. For instance, Hanson Robotics, a scientific company which specializes in artificial intelligence, have invented Sophia robot, which is able to communicate like humans. If we do not have appropriate approaches, robots may dominate the world in the future.

On the other hand, there are plenty of technological inventions that are beneficial for human race. Firstly, the invention of computer has opened a modern epoch and given humans a chance to approach to the quintessence of information technology. Without the computers, there would not have 4.0 or 5.0 technology. Moreover, thanks to the computers, the standard of living has been enhanced and many people do not need to do manual works like in the past. Secondly, the technology has contributed majorly to the ambition of discovering the universe and finding other planets which have suitable conditions for the existence of life. Therefore, in the future, our next generations can live in other planets and escape from the Apocalyptic scenario.

In conclusion, admittedly, the startling progression of the technology may be disadvantageous in some aspects, we cannot deny that the technology can have a lot of benefits on the development of society.