(3.12.2016): International travel has many advantages to both travellers and the country that they visited. Do Advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, international tourism has brought many benefits to both travelers and the host nations which receive them. While some clear drawbacks of this development, I think its values are more significant.

On the one hand, several reasons explain the negative influence of traveling internationally. Firstly, situations of exploitation of tourists in famous destinations are becoming popular. For instance, in Dubai, foreign visitors have to pay for everything from traveling to accommodation with grossly inflated prices and they can meet a lot of complicated situations such as conflicts of languages. In addition, the environment is heavily influenced by the development of international tourism. This is because the growth in the number of tourists from abroad would encourage overusing of fossil fuels for industry and transport. Thus the greenhouse effect and heavy climate changes are big fear. Also, the amount of food loss and waste has increased significantly, as a result of wasting natural resources.

On the other hand, I suppose the benefits of international travel would eclipse those analyzed disadvantages. The first reason relates to the growth potential of the economy so those nations have greater competition with other countries. For example, with cheaper tour packages, they have more opportunities to attract tourists from abroad. Travelers can have several fascinating experiences of exotic cuisine and culture, and the traditional craft villages can get out of bankruptcy. Moreover, boosting traveling abroad reduces the conflict between cultures and languages of different countries.

In conclusion, even if travel overseas causes some risk of producing pollution and transmitting illnesses, I believe that the downsides are outweighed by the upsides, which include offering job chances, making fortune, improving local facilities for the local people, and expanding travelers’ horizons.