adaptation when living in new country

In modern society, the issue of commencing a new life in a new country has become a matter for discussion. While it can be argued that immigrants should adhere to the local lifestyle, I only partially agree with this sentiment and I believe foreigners ought to stick to their cultural values. This essay will outline the reason why I think this.

From an overall perspective, there are two main reasons why I agree with the essential of adjusting to the traditional life in the host country. Perhaps the main reason why I am in favor of adapting new traditions is because it can help newcomers with staying away complicated troubles and illegal actions which enable to happen if new residents do not follow. To illustrate, seeing or experiencing strange behaviors that are not socially acceptable would make local people angry and frustrated. For example, Singapore is the best country in terms of cleanliness so if immigrants litter, they will be punished for sure by paying the fee and that actions also make local citizens will feel annoyed. A further point in favor of following new custom and transition is that it is easier for outsiders to get along well with the locals. As a result, expatriates will be accepted and they are capable of gaining respects and affections as well was help from local inhabitants. A good illustration of this is, if foreigners know as much as they can about long-standing values and religious matters of the host community, people in that area will have good first impression on them and the locals are willing to help new comers in any situation.

Despite these arguments, I also feel that people who live in another country should keep their own customs which are suitable to native environment for some reasons. First and foremost, it is impossible for immigrants to completely forget their own culture. That is the reason why they need to practice some of their traditions. For instance, if Vietnamese people commence in the US, they are not necessary to speak English while they are at home with their Vietnamese family. As a consequence, they will be remind about their fatherland and overcome homesickness. Secondly, it is also a good chance to introduce local people about foreigners’ customs and traditions. This opportunity results in cultural assimilation and exchange traditional values between both countries and people in two different communities are able to enrich their knowledge about a new land in order to live in harmony. To elaborate, newcomers can comply with native community and the locals can be exposed to foreign lifestyles.

In conclusion, it must be said that living in another country has become a complex issue with no easy solutions. Having considered both side of the issue, I would argue that it is vital to compliance with new custom and tradition in the host community as well as maintenance suitable own culture. If individuals just carry out one of these two terms, they might to face a dilemma or their origin could be disappear unpredictably.