The advantages of English spreading as a global language will continue outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is will the advantages of english language continue to outweigh the disadvantages or not. Now people are beginning to realize that, english is the global language, and knowing it has a lot of benefits in our world. Personally, I tend to think that now the advantages of english are outweighing its drawbacks.

Firstly, it is well known that english is an internationally recognized language and almost half the population of the world speaks in it. What I mean here is that, most science breakthroughs, academic resources, and top news magazines are often published in english, meaning that people can explore knowledge quickly and directly from the original source. One of the main reasons behind that is only knowing english can open access to tons of resources, as well as, most study programmes at the top universities are taught in english. A good case point is that the top 10 universities of the world are mostly taught in english, demonstrating that it is a worldwide language.

On the other hand, it can also be argued that, causes of globalization can be harmful to some cultures of humanity. That is to say, by learning english from an early age people can miss their own cultures and languages. Take for example, India in our case, westernization affected some families, they tend to live like in Europe or USA, while losing its own identity and culture.

In conclusion, taking everything into account in our final analysis we can say that, despite the fact of westernization, the advantages of knowing english will continue to outweigh its drawbacks.