advertisements

It is the fact that children are being targeted customers for many companies, and these advertisements have some detrimental impact on children; therefore, it is suggested that a ban should be given to these advertisements in order to tackle the related problems. In my opinion, I partly agree with this idea, since it could bring both benefits and drawbacks to society.

It is easily understandable why a number of people agree that a prohibition on advertisements could be tremendously helpful as it might alleviate the detrimental impacts of these kinds of programs on children.To begin with, the relationship between children and their parents could be affected by some advertisements. Compared to adults, children are easily attracted by commercials due to the colorful images combining with lively and catchy tunes; therefore, they are easily swayed by commercials to own the advertised items, resulting in conflicts if their parents deny their desires to have these. For example, after watching a sugar-based drink commercial, children might convince their parents to buy it, and when they are denied, they may have a negative emotion and be frustrated, leading to wrong behaviors like nagging. In addition, by being exposed to advertisements, children might be a jealous and vulnerable individual when they grow up. Since many companies have up-to-date versions, children tend to compare their products with their counterparts or develop the habit of judging someone just because of their material possessions. For example, they might seek out who has the latest toy car version, or whose clothes are most trendy.

Although that solution might make/create some aforementioned impacts, I think it would have some limitations. Firstly, Marketing is one of the major factors contributing to the growth of a company, and creates many job opportunities.Therefore, if these advertisements are banned completely, many companies would go bankrupt and many marketing employees would suffer from unemployment. This would place a great burden on the national economy since the government will have to provide financial support for those unemployed citizens. Secondly, it would be quite challenging to decide whether an advertisement is intended for children or not, so that this regulation might be impractical. For example, advertisements of some fast food are not labeled for “children”, since not only children but also adults consume a great deal of them, thus it would be impossible to prohibit these products’ advertisements.

In conclusion,while a ban on advertisements targeted at children could be helpful to tackle these problems, it still is an impractical solution.