ADVERTISEMENTS

Thanks to the popularity of advertisements, many companies these days could attract and inform their customers that they have the most cutting-edge products. It is undeniable that there are some motives for business to do this, and I believe it is a negative trend.

There are some reasons why companies want to transmit a message that they have an initial product. Firstly, this tendency perhaps stems from the curiosity of the customers. It is because people usually want to experience new items, so this method could be useful to provoke their curiosity. As a result, many products will be purchased and could be sold out. Secondly, it is impossible for start-ups to replace the remaining companies who have many executive products with numerous loyal customers. Therefore, launching in the market with different product segments could be a useful method.

Despite some convincing reasons which were mentioned above, I still believe that this trend will have some detrimental impacts on both companies and customers. From companies’ perspective, it would be better if that amount of money would be invested in improving the qualities, the packages or the features of their products. By doing that, the companies could actually attract loyal customers, and mouth-of-advertising is perhaps the most effective method to reach a new market segment. From customers’ angle, people could be spoilt for choices as many companies convey a message that they have the most modern and useful products. This will result in the lack of trust in the advertisements, resulting in many advertised high-quality products being overlooked by customers.

In conclusion, I agree that advertisements are the best tool to reach new customers, however, companies should allocate money to upgrade their products instead of convincing their customers that they have the latest ones.