Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development

Advertising is gaining more popularity in the marketing of products or services. While advertisements are considered to be advantageous, they can have numerous negative influences.

On the one hand, advertising brings unquestionable benefits for both customers and companies. Firstly, advertising provides details about newly launched products which is important for customers who are unaware. Therefore, they have a wider array of selection when shopping, contributing to the enhancement of the comforts and standard of living. Secondly, as a form of modern art, companies and enterprises use advertisements to approach their prospective customers, followed by an increase in sales for the business. In fact, improving quality alone would be less effective if producers fail to commercialize their commodities. In other words, corporates spend a great deal of money on publicity materials to promote their products with a view to generating a higher profit and enhancing the companies' competitiveness in the market

On the other hand, the surge in quantities of commercials exerts several undesirable effects on consumers. First, people are being bombarded with all kind of advertisements that have been pop up everywhere and result in distraction or disturbance. For example, such irrelevant commercial breaks between some TV shows can not effectively promote the products but become a nuisance to many people. Moreover, being inundated with daily advertisements, customers ate motivated to buy goods impulsively. Companies especially in the cosmetics industry for instance, often use celebrity endorsement as a way to stimulate customers to buy the products that are of little use to buyers in many cases. This leads to the wasting of money on unnecessary goods.

In conclusion, in spite of the evident merits that advertisements will bring to a business, they are also detrimental to consumers to some extent.