Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been an increasing tendency of commercial advertising. From my perspective, this phenomenon could be both positive and negative.

On the one hand, the growth of advertisements has brought about numerous benefits. First and foremost, this field is a creative industry that employs many people, generates a wide range of employment opportunities, thanks to a large-scale expansion of advertising in mass media. In other words, it provides occupation for designers, copywriters or artists who create illustrations, ideas and contents for advertisements. In addition, customers can be kept informed about the products thanks to the advertisements. Therefore, they would have more choices for their favourite products, thereby contributing to the improvement of living standard.

However, despite the aforementioned advantages, the skyrocketing in the quantities of advertisements also has its flaws. An irrefutable one is that instead of providing precise information of products with customers, some businesses tend to exaggerate and even distort the facts related to the products for the commercial purposes of their own, make consumers confused about the items, and have troubles about selecting them. Furthermore, it would manipulate people by the attractive elements. For example, a company sells a new type of Coke, the taste is not much different from the old one, but it is sold at an exorbitant price. Nevertheless, many people are still willing to spend their own money to purchase them, because it has the image of the celebrity they love, and they strive to collect as much as possible. Hence, it has succeeded in capturing customers’ psychology, and they are forced to buy them.

In conclusion, advertisements of different genres of products have become more commonplace in our daily life. In my opinion, not only are they advantageous, but they also exert negative influences on people.