advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. is it a positive or negative development?

These days, the popularity of advertisements is dramatically increasing in people's lives. I would argue that there are both positives and negatives in equal measure.

On the one hand, it should never be denied that advertisements have some noteworthy positive effects. Firstly, customers can be informed of newly-launched products. This means that thanks to the rise of advertisements, consumers are aware of a wide range of selections and not be confined by a narrow range of products. Second, With the ceaseless growth of advertising, people could have more far-reaching employment opportunities. In fact, companies created advertisements need to hire various kinds of job ranging from designer, content-writing to photography. Finally, advertising serves as a bridge between manufacturers and consumers, expanding business opportunities and raising living standards.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned merits, some drawbacks do exist. To begin with, advertising can be deceiving. Since marketers can employ tricks and gimmicks to incite people to buy products that can be poor of quality, leading to great dissatisfaction among buyers. Another noticeable disadvantage is it would drive up the price of products. The primary reason for it is that the selling price of marketed products needs to cover the advertising expenses. Furthermore, Advertisings tend to tempt people to purchase unnecessary things. People might find it hard to resist the temptation of products that are advertised beyond their expectations.

In conclusion, the development of businesses has given rise to the growing number of advertisements, and this trend is, in my opinion, advantageous as well as detrimental.