Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Recent decades have witnessed the mounting ubiquity of advertising in human life. While some people claim that advertisements should be encouraged, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon could have numerous negative influences on the customer.

On the other hand, there are certain rationales why some people think that the increasing popularity of advertising is beneficial to the national economy and community. One of the most fundamental reasons is that advertisement paves the way for corporate bodies to promote their products’ information to the existing and potential customer base. Indeed, through compelling commercials appearing on commercial channels and social media sites, purchasers could have more diverse purchase choices, which proportionally lead to better customer purchase decisions and the enterprises’ spiraling profit. Another reason is that advertisements can serve prodigious employment opportunities. No doubt, the blossoming advertising industry provides occupations for artists, designers, and copywriters in designing and preparing content for the advertisement.

On the other hand, I do believe that advertising could exert erosive impacts on consumers. Firstly, companies can exaggerate the utility of minor features of their products for commercial purposes. As a result, customers could be lured to buy products whose quality is of inferiority in proportion to their price, which might trigger customers’ deteriorated reliability and loyalty. Secondly, this phenomenon can be detrimental to consumers’ health in the long term. For example, if young minds are exposed to the frequency of commercials for junk food, they might have the tendency to excessively consume this low-nutrient food, which can cause the mounting rate of childhood obesity.

In conclusion, while the ubiquity of advertisements can raise the revenue for corporations and generate employment opportunities, I espouse the notion that this phenomenon could have numerous disadvantages towards customers concerning their declining reliability and their physical health deterioration.