Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In our contemporary society, advertisings are gaining more momentum. Personally, I believe this is a negative development.

To begin with, since commercials are becoming more prevalent, people are getting accustomed to the consistency and the obsolete methodology used in advertisements, which leads to people's dissatisfaction and disappointment. To be more specific, many companies have been using unchanged pictures and tapes considered to be old-fashioned to introduce their commodities, failing to meet customer's demand for advancements and other intriguing approaches. Moreover, as advertising becoming more ubiquitous, a majority of clients are gradually getting used to marketing tricks and deceitful intentions immersed in the advertisement. To illustrate, many products are terrible and do not live up to people's expectations compared to those introduced on televisions, triggering outrageous reactions and distrust for the companies as well as diminishing manufacturer's social reputation.

Furthermore, since many marketing strategies are directing towards children, which can have a debilitating effect on their health. It goes without saying that many fast food and junk food companies are choosing children as their target audience, hence, those companies have a tendency to make their products appear to be healthy and appealing to children. Unfortunately, most children do not understand the concept of advertising and are easily persuaded to purchase these unhealthy food. As a consequence, children can be at risk of many serious health issues, such as obesity and diabetes.

In conclusion, although advertising are gaining more popular to the public, I am of the opinion that it can bring detrimental impacts in terms of children's health, people's dissatisfaction about obsolete methodology and marketing tricks of commercials.