Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations.

Some people say that the government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

Air traffic is causing increased environmental hazard and erection of new airports structures, This is as a result of affordable commuters flight tickets to international tourism centers. Few individuals mentioned that heavy taxation should be placed on commuters, however, I am of the opinion that, air ticket should be made expensive in order to relief environmental hazard and to discourage commuters from flying airplanes.

To begin, generally, it is indisputable that air traffic pose threats to the environment. The fumes release from the engine of aircraft contains high quantity of carbon dioxide, carbon mono-oxide and formaldehyde. The above mentioned chemical compounds causes breakdown of the Ozone layer thus leading to green house effects, this also have detrimental effects on the overall ecosystem. For example, increased carbon dioxide in the air causes air pollution thus endangering human lives. It is interesting to note that incurring heavy taxation on air ticket will slim the tide of flying more planes at a time thereby relieving its havoc on the environment.

Furthermore, heavy taxation discourages passengers from flying planes. In some countries, most citizens are average income earners while others have many family responsibilities. Admittedly, these average citizens enjoy recreation and relaxation, While majority would choose non exorbitant tourists centres, a growing number would rather go against all odds to travel to high class countries such as Dubai, Canada and the United State of America. For instance, few months ago, a relative who is a civil servant sent his entire family to Dubai for relaxation. This was only possible because of affordable flight fare, however, if air traffic was heavily levied, their chances of travelling would have been very slim.

In conclusion, To relief the danger pose by air traffic on the environment, airlines must be greatly taxed must be heavily taxed in order to discourage a greater number from flying airplanes.