Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people might say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, travelling by plane has become a very common means of transport for many people. Mainly because it's practical, quick and easy, but it also became incredibly cheap and accessible for all.

Consequently, people are highly encouraged to choose it and air traffic is increasing rapidly. Although taxing fight tickets more heavily could enable to reduce air traffic considerably, this decision could also lead to many drawbacks.

First of all, if plane tickets become more expensive, many people might reconsider their way of travelling. Therefore, this would certainly encourages more of them to take a train to travel short distances, from a European country to another, for example.

As a result of this, air traffic could decrease and new airport construction not be needed.

On the other hand, to me it is obvious that people will choose to travel using a car or a coach as an alternative way. Therefore, this would lead to lots of noise and pollution on the roads, mostly during holidays. Moreover, economically, the choice of taxing flight tickets be afforded by wealthy people. Finally, high costs flying might simply disadvantage tourism as it would slow down cultural and economic exchanges between countries.

To sump up, when beraing in mind the consequences of heavy taxes on plane tickets, it does not seem to be an appropriate solution against noise or pollution. Besides, travelling by plane is needed and important to maintain goods exchanges, tourism communication, technology development.