Nowadays, people live in societies that consumer goods have become cheaper. Do you think the advantages of consumer goods being cheaper outweigh the disadvantages?

In this recent century, the consumer goods are available with a wide range of option where it allows people to purchase goods at cheaper prices. This brings the benefits for people to possess more goods without worrying to make a choice between goods. However, I believe that the disadvantages of cheaper consumer goods outweigh the advantages, because it can lead the society to become materialistic and there are possibilities for people to obtain impulsive purchasing habits which can affect the environment.

The cheaper consumer goods would provide a various options for the public. In other words, people do not have to make a choice between those options, because the price is cheap, they can afford most of goods. The more possession of goods can be available, it can lead to feeling of satisfaction and feeling of security as well as comfortable lifestyles. The comfortable lifestyles which can result in improvement of standard of living. Hence, the consumer goods being cheap can be beneficial for the improvement of living standard and the variety of options to choose from.

On the other hand, the more goods at a cheaper price can lead to materialistic society. If people possess more goods, it can easily form a competition about people's possessions. For example, when people owned a car, other people may try to possess two cars to compete. In the worst case, people judge other person by their materialistic possessions instead of other values. Thus, it can transform the society into materialistic society.

In addition, the impulsive purchasing habits are inevitable. People do not have to buy necessity items, only because all consumer goods are cheap. This impulsive shopping habits can affect a factory to producing of goods excessively and which results in more wastes to the environment. Because more goods are available, people will get easily substitute goods with new one, and this can produce massive amounts of trashes to the environment. Therefore, the impulsive purchasing habits can have a harmful effect to the environment.

In conclusion, the cheaper consumer goods provide a wide range of selections that improves the standard of living, but it causes damages to societal and environmental aspects. It cannot deny that the society can change into materialistic and the environments can be damaged by impulsive purchasing habits. Therefore, the cheaper consumer goods have more of disadvantages than that of advantages.