Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations.

Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

Regarding the rapid increase of air traffic, which is harmful not only for the environment but also for people that are annoyed by its noise, it is commonly believed that the government should be stricter on airoplanes’ taxes to discourage travellers from reckless use of air transportation. Even though this could be a solution, I believe that air traffic could be reduced with proper organisation and control of flights.

Indeed, increasing taxes could set a solution if the extra charges were carefully applied to people who unnecessarily use aeroplanes for their travelling. The government could achieve this by assessing the purpose of travelling of each passenger. In that way, taxes will discourage passengers, such as those of low-cost companies from exploiting the situation for having vacations.

However, the alternative of personal charges is highly unlikely to be applied properly, in comparison to other methods that could reduce air traffic. One practical solution could be the improvement of timetables of all means of transport by the government, in order to reduce the number of flights as much as possible. Conducting deep research on the demand for transportation would be the key to this attempt, which would eventually lead to avoidance of unnecessary travelling, as happens with passengers that have to take two planes to reach their destination.

Meanwhile, the government can reduce some of the drawbacks of air traffic, namely the irritating noise along with the environmental damage. Taking stricter measures regarding the maintenance of crafts is essential, as the legislation that concerns air companies is not sufficient. Furthermore, often checks on the level of pollution caused or other important parameters, followed by heavy fines in case of delinquency would deter companies from inappropriate use of planes.

Undoubtfully, air traffic is continuously increasing causing harm to the environment, as well as people. The government should interfere directly by improving daily timetables and advancing aircraft to restrict the further damage.