All children should study a foreign language in school, starting in the earliest grades.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and indicate any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this accelerating globalization, acquirement of foreign languages are regarded necessary and advantageous because we are now more likely to communicate with foreign people in both private and business, and both online and face to face. To reflect the situation, some insists on the necessity of the earliest study of foreign languages in school. I almost agree with the idea, but we must be careful to introduce that system in order not to have too much tasks on children and teachers.

Everyone admit acquiring new skills become harder as we grow up. Especially, when it comes to talking in foreign languages, earlier education is truly effective. One of my friends, who has ever listened English since childhood in forms of radio, music and movies, actually understands English conversation well and speaks fluently. Also, familiarity to foreign languages derived by earlier education may modify a negative attitude toward them, which is commonly seen in Japanese toward English talking.

However, there are points to watch out despite those merits. In Japan, an introduction of English class as an additional subject from the earliest grades means more tasks on children and teachers. Today, students tend to be overworking. They have more subjects compared to the past, and often are busy with after-school education such as swimming school. Avoiding expansion of school time of a week when we add new class, we have to reduce some time spent on other classes. At the same time, teachers are also need to be payed attention. Their long working time is already controversial. In addition, my father, an elementary school teacher, was upset when English class was introduced as a subject there because his coworkers and he had neither experienced English teaching or training of it as an elementary school teacher. As the result, he have to work more to prepare English lecture. Outsourcing languages teachers may be a good solution over this problem.

In the situation that using foreign languages is crucial to the global society, education as early as possible will positively effect on students. But when we introduce it to the current study curriculum, another time must be cut instead for balancing children's class time on a day Also, it should be organized not to lead teachers' overworking.