The large number of private cars on the roads in many parts of the world has led to serious problems of pollution and may contribute to global warming. Some people think that governments should spend money for the development of public transportation systems in order to help and solve this problem. Others think that it is better to spend money for the development of electric and other type of cars that cause less pollution.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

A vast amount of CO2 human has emitted is said the main reason of the accelerating global warming. As cars become cheaper and owned by more population in the world, the pollution caused by car emission has been getting greater. There are 2 solutions often suggested about government’s subsidence on researches for technology development; Governments should financially support to develop public transportation or new type of cars producing no carbon.

I find points in both solutions, and I believe using them to suitable cases the most important.

Using public transportation such as trains and buses are the easiest way among people to take an action to reduce carbon emission immediately. Developing trains have a lot of advantages on the issue. Some special trains take us to destinations faster than cars in most cases. They will modify traffic jams on roads, too. On the other hand, despite those merits, mountains are often made a hole for tunnels in order to make a new railway, and it sometimes give a bad effect on water source there. Because of this, Shizuoka is now stopping JR to construct a new railway through mountains of Shizuoka so that they can keep a lake level.

When it comes to new types of cars emitting no carbon, they would take some time to be affordable to more people even though some of them are already available like electric cars. But once they are spread well among people, the shift of cars in the main stream makes a big difference on the total emission. One thing we have to note is the way to produce the energy. If we have to burn more fossils for producing electricity used for cars despite our effort to reduce carbon emission from cars, it does not make sense.

Both have advantages and disadvantages as seen above. Therefore, I believe it the best that both are used in balance. They should provide citizens cheaper and more frequent public transportation whereas the invention of new type of cars is must in cases an introduction of transportation may harm environments or simply difficult.