Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time.

What do you think?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

K.W.

In the middle of globalization, it is no longer enough for us to know only about domestic new. Some insist that we have to catch up with what is happening outside of a home country to deal with the indirect influence or communicate with foreign people. To reflect the situation, there is a coming up argument if international news should be one of the subjects to study in secondary school. I completely agree with this idea for two reason.

Firstly, it is very valuable when we think about domestic problem because our ideas become more sophisticated with international cases. For example, it is difficult to objectively examine and evaluate Japanese government without comparing to other countries’. The essential issues for secondary school students to think for their future, like working style, tuition system of university, pension system and environmental actions, often have a space to learn from outside of Japan. If young generation in Japan, which is often said indifferent to politics, learn international news more intensively in school, they may realize we have problems and be encouraged to vote.

Secondly, the society where people understand international issues is definitely comfortable to live in for foreigners. Nowadays more and more foreign people live in Japan for various reason. Also, the number of people who looks like Japanese but have their any root in other countries are increasing. Our indifference and ignorance to their background could hurt them without noticing. Domestic market is shrinking for fewer children in Japan. We need people from overseas anyway for the purpose of business, tourism and workforce. In the situation, international education from secondary education is necessary.

In conclusion, international news should become one of the school subjects for the following reasons. It gives students oppotunity to realize domestic problem and have interest in participating in politics. Also, it allows foreign people to live in Japan at ease.