Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. H.H

These days, a lot of people come to pay attention to international news because of the globalization. Certainly, we should have more knowledge about other countries and international news will help us to gain the information of the world. However, I disagree with the idea that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. There are three reasons for this.

Firstly, international news are often difficult for secondary school children to understand. In most cases, international news are quite complex because of the backgrounds, such us history, politics and culture. Without enough knowledge, children can cause miss-understanding about foreign countries. In order to prevent children from having a wrong image of other countries, children should not study international news as a school subject.

Second, secondary school children should spend more time studying other basic subjects. It is important for them to establish the base of knowledge. If they cannot, they will have more trouble in studying advanced subjects or daily life. It can be helpful for their future to study basic subjects more.

Finally, teachers do not have a skill for teaching international news as a school subject. I doubt that every teacher doesn't have a certain skill or knowledge of teaching international news. Moreover, if international news become a school subject, it must be taught to children based on a standard or a curriculum. However, I think that it is difficult to define a standard of international news.

In conclusion, international news are complex for secondary school children. And they have a lot of things to learn or study. Therefore, it is not necessary that international news are taught to children as a school subjects.