All education and healthcare should be funded by the government and free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Education and medical care are believed to be indispensable features to socio-economic development in the world. A growing number of people, therefore, hold a belief that these sectors should be wholly funded by national authority. From my perspective, I do not accord with the given statement because this kind of investment will trigger some certain negative consequences.

It cannot be denied that investments in education and healthcare will enrich competitiveness for job opportunities and affordability on treatment. With reference to educational benefits to society, a subsidized education system will facilitate knowledge acquisition and education background for people. This is because finding a job in an economic turmoil is not an easy task and if being equipped with extensive knowledge, graduates will be able to stand out in the pool of candidates for their employment opportunities. In respect of free healthcare, it can save a myriad of lives as symptoms will be recognised, diagnosed and prevented. This is also more beneficial to those who are unlikely to afford health services in light of prohibitive hospitalization fees on treatments especially to critical diseases such as cancer or heart attack. Therefore, a country in which national leaders take medicare and education seriously will put their citizens at ease.

Nonetheless, providing free-of-charge training and medicare services could activate some social and individual drawbacks. Indeed, financial incentives in public health will make people become irresponsible for their own fitness because of easy access to free treatment. Take America as a prime example, people uncontrollably consume a large amount of fast food leading to the highest rate of obesity in the globe. They tend to believe that public hospitals will provide appropriate treatments without paying any fee. With respect to education, the expenses in association with bursaries, tuition, and academic fees covered by the government will significantly affect learners’ perceptiveness. They, indeed, might not appreciate the value of financial rewards created by their solely abilities because tuition fee is reckoned to be made by the state. Consequently, if being inappropriately invested, society will suffer from severe epidemic and shallow-minded individuals.

In conclusion, education and healthcare are the dominant features to sustainable development of a nation. However, I still maintain my original idea that these sectors should not be completely sponsored by the government.