All large companies should provide sports and social facilities for the local community. Do
you agree or disagree?
It has been greatly discussed that large corporations should be responsible for building
infrastructures for sports and social purposes for the local community. Even though, this
notion is appealing as it helps large firms to give back to the community, I believe that this
should not solely be the responsible of large companies.
The rationale for having large companies to build sport infrastructures and social amenities
and facilities for the local community stems from the notion that as the companies operate,
they hold accountable for minimising their impact to the local community. Thus, building
sports and social amenities is deemed crucial for a sustainable development of the community
in the long run. Additionally, sports and social infrastructures are considered as lucrative
features for residents to consider living in one community to another.
On the contrary, I firmly believe that the responsibility of building a feasible living
community by creating sports and social facilities is not a sole duty of large companies but
rather, requires substantial resources and approvals from the local authorities as well. To
begin with, the local authority is responsible for the operation of a business, from scratch, as
it requires a tedious process of paperwork before any business commences. Therefore, as the
governing bodies for the community, they should be held accountable too. Additionally,
should large companies build any facilities regardless of its purposes, local authority
permissions are required. Moreover, without any rewarding or beneficial incentives, large
firms do not have sufficient motivations to give back to the community. For instance, local
community can provide incentive for companies by reducing its cost of operation through
discount on resources used such as land rental.
In conclusion, in building a feasibly sustainable community, large firms should provide
sports and other social infrastructures as a way of giving back . However, this also requires
substantial efforts from the local authority in term of facilitating and approving the process of
building the aforementioned amenities and providing motivations through incentives for large
firms.