Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Some think they should begin at at least 7 years old. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People are divided on whether formal education for preadolescents should begin at a younger stage of life, or should it be when they are at least 7 of age. The rationale behind such early-stage formal education stemmed from the fact that young children’s capabilities are immersing while others would argue that their neurological development only begins at a later stage. Personally, I am skewed toward the latter perspective.

Contently, those supported this notion were greatly influenced by how rare research pointed out that children have significant potential to learn at a very young age, some even excels their peers in terms of language skills. For instance, some rare prodigy possesses extraordinary language skills at the age of 3 and masters several different languages later in life when they were exposed to early formal educations. As such, introducing formal education in these extents sounds promising as it can vastly enhance the child’s capabilities to perform and accomplish astonishing achievements latter on in life.

Notwithstanding all of that, others would argue that, scientifically, majority of children’s neurological development only begin when reaching the age of 7. Consequently, such early exposure to formal education can be overwhelming for the child’s physique and mentality; thus, neglecting other’s important aspects as exposure to formal education at an early stage in life can result in a sacrifice of personal’s aspects including bonding time with their caregivers and family. I firmly believe with this perspective as a holistic approach for a child’s development must encompass not only formal educations, but also a nurturing for a child’s emotion, mentality, and social manner and etiquette which can only be learnt from their direct caregivers at an early age. Specifically, by spending time with their loved ones at a younger age a child can learn how to regulate their emotions and enhance their social skills which is of great importance for a comprehensive development.

In conclusion, the argument supporting early-stage education sounds promising as this helps to expand a child’s capabilities to a greater extent. Nevertheless, a holistic and more well-rounded approach that caters to their emotional, mental, and social needs are more realistic and plausible.