All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity.
This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this
rise in obesity, How could it be tackled?
Nations worldwide are dealing with the increasing issue of obesity. This is a cause for
concern for all age groups.There are two main causes, over consumption of fast food and
lack of exercise. Possible solutions would be a government tax on fast food and special
incentives on gym membership to get people exercising.
One of the reasons that people are becoming overweight these days is that they are
eating more junk food and convenience food rather than cooking healthy meals at home.
This is because many people tend to lead a busy life so it is easier to just buy ready meals
or get a take away. For instance, In the UK, sales of these types of foods have risen by
48% since 1990. If the issue is not addressed soon, there will most likely be an epidemic
of obesity related illnesses such as diabetes in the near future.
To tackle this issue the government should take strong action. For example, increasing
tax on high fat, high sugar or unhealthy foods. Other possibilities to solve the issue would
be to add health warnings to wrapping just like on cigarette packaging. If some of these
initiatives are put into place then consumers would think twice about the foods they
consume, this could most certainly lead to them losing weight and therefore leading a
healthier life.