Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever-growing population or to develop business and boost economies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

As the global population is rising rapidly, there has been increasing demand for not only food and energy but also space. Despite those who value their public parks, some proposed that these spaces should be repurposed for more residential areas or economic development. To settle this debate, I think we should find ways to implement parks in urban buildings and reuse unused places for residential areas in the event of urban expansion.

Firstly, parks can be placed on top of urban buildings to save space instead. There have been structures throughout history that support gardens or large balconies. In this case, architects could design clusters of apartments with flat, connected rooftops for public parks. Benefits of this include expandable capabilities and closer parks for residents.

On the other hand, residential areas could be built in abandoned cities or excessive areas like golf courts. Abandoned cities or unused land are useful to urbanize. Meanwhile, golf courts are space-intensive and there are too many golf parks these days. Besides, parks are for residents’ recreation and well-being, so removing them would be impractical. With that being said, urban planners should consider unutilized land before demolishing public parks.

On a particular side note, it is actually the outskirts that are responsible for the lack of space. Unlike urban apartments, the outskirts are individual small houses spanning an enormous region. Moreover, this type of city planning is inefficient because it creates pollution from personal vehicles and wastes energy, hindering a city’s development.

In conclusion, I would argue that parks should be maintained at all costs, and city planners should either incorporate them in their design or repurpose and utilize impractical areas.